Bill 38
Protected Areas Act

The information on this page has been compiled by Ecology north

Status: PAssed

Bill 38 was passed unanimously in the Assembly on Friday, June 7th, 2019 

Thanks to the dedicated work of governments and stakeholders, the approval of Bill 38 has helped make possible the establishment of Thaidene Nene this summer 2019.



Excerpt from the published text of the Bill:

This Bill sets out the process for establishing a protected area in the Northwest Territories. It sets out how to nominate a candidate area to be considered for protected area status. It also provides the mechanism for entering into establishment agreements with Indigenous governments or organizations for the management of a protected area. The Bill sets out detailed regulation making authorities so that each protected area may be regulated in a manner that reflects the particular characteristics of that area. The Bill also sets out prohibited as well as acceptable activities within a protected area.

The Hansard is the daily printed record of the proceedings of the Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Scroll to page 5057 for MLA comments on Bill 38 at second reading

GNWT Documents

Early in the legislative process, the government department sponsoring the bill compiles the results of their preliminary public consultation efforts into one or more reports. These reports may include an engagement or discussion paper and a What We Heard report which are often published on a webpage with additional resources for public engagement.

Prior to the Bill being brought to Standing Committee, the department sponsoring the Bill accepts submissions from various stakeholders on the proposed content and scope of the Bill. These stakeholders include non-governmental organization, individuals, and businesses. Submissions from the non-governmental organizations involved in the creation of this website are below.

Alternatives North submission on Bill 38
Alternatives North

Expert review currently in progress…

Sign up for our mailing list to receive an email alert when this site is updated:

Public submissions to the Standing Committee will be posted to this tab as they become available. Please refer to the schedule above.

Yamoga Land Corporation
Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation
Wek’èezhìı Renewable Resources Board
Tłı̨chǫ Government
Inuvialuit Game Council
K'atlodeeche First Nation
Northwest Territory Métis Nation
Yellowknife Mayor Rebecca Alty
Sahtu Renewable Resources Board
Dene National Chief Norman Yakeleya
NWT & Nunavut Chamber of Mines

Photos by Brian Kinzie